Land Studies: paper art by May Babcock

Land Studies: New Work by May Babcock

Exhibitions, News, Projects

I’m happy to announce my latest show, Land Studies, a solo exhibition of  my new papermaking work at the AS220 Project Space Gallery in Providence. It’s my first Rhode Island art show! Take a look at my new pulp paintings and  sculptural papermaking installations based on sites around Rhode Island and coastal New England.

May Babcock - Papermaking Artist

 

Installation view of the show. These are a series of 5 pulp paintings, measuring approximately 2′ x 4′. I used a base sheet of recycled pulps and Japanese Knotweed fiber. The black pulp is from rag, beaten to a very fine pulp. These are made entirely of paper pulp, but the technique I used isn’t truly ‘pulp painting.’ It’s more like a papermaking version of the monotype…I will post tutorial at my more generically papermaking blog/website, Paperslurry.com.

Pulp Paintings paper pulp painting art

Shoreline Study #1 of the Seekonk River, 22″ x 42″, Paper Pulptype, 2014

papermaking pulp painting artist

Collier Point Study #4, 22″ x 42″, Paper Pulptype, 2014

pulp painting artist

Collier Point Study #3, 22″ x 42″, Paper Pulptype, 2014

papermaking pulp painting art

Collier Point Study #2, 22″ x 42″, Paper Pulptype, 2014

paper pulp painting art

 

Collier Point Study #1, 22″ x 42″, Paper Pulptype, 2014 Paper Pulp Painting

This is Mission Espada, a pulp painting I created at the Picante Paper Studio in San Antonio.

Paper Pulp Painting

paper art installation - mud books

 

Seekonk River Mud Constructions, 16″ x 8″ each, Variable Installation, Handmade River Mud Paper, 2013. River mud was added to the vat of pulp and water before sheet formation.

papermaking installation art

 

papermaking sculpture book

coastalinvasives_1

 

Sorry this photo isn’t better! I have to get a wider lens! Constructions of Invasive Plants of Coastal New England, 16″ x 8″ each, Variable Installation, Handmade Paper from Phragmites Australis, Japanese Knotweed, and Codium Fragile.

 

 

 

sculptural papermaking coastalinvasives_2

 

Wintered Knotweed, 2014. These was beautiful, fibrous, knotweed plants I found retting at the river. I cooked them with caustic, and rinsed them with water before pounding them apart.

knotweed art

 

4 thoughts on “Land Studies: New Work by May Babcock

  1. I am endlessly fascinated and inspired by your work! Was blown away by your Plaquemine Locks piece at the Ogden in New Orleans and have been a fan ever since. Great to see you have moved to the Northeast! (I’m an LSU alum myself–’76)

Leave a Reply

